Murphy Wins Nostalgia Top Fuel During Closing Day of Holly National Hot Rod Reunion Presented by AAA

Racing took center stage during the final day of the 2017 Holley National Hot Rod Reunion presented by AAA at Beech Bend Raceway Park as eliminations took place in each of the categories. 

Jim Murphy took the win in Nostalgia Top Fuel defeating James Young in the thrilling final round. Murphy was in his fifth consecutive final round but had yet to tally a win in over two years. 

His dragster is tuned by legendary crew chief Roland Leong who kept the car going rounds during the day. Murphy trailed at the start of the run but was able to get around Young with a winning run of 5.713-seconds at 257.33 mph to the trailing run of Young at 5.920 at 253.56. Murphy, the 2013 Nostalgia Top Fuel champion, celebrated his birthday on Monday and takes the win as a belated present. 

“The win is a monkey off my back as we kept having fluke things happen and it was one thing after another,” said Murphy. “We won this race in 2013 and went on to win the championship so maybe this will be an omen and we are leading the points now moving up from second.”

Winners in the other racing included Don Nave in 7.0 Pro, Darrell Wathen in 7.5 Eliminator, Nostalgia Super Stock was Doug Duell, Competition Eliminator was won by Skeeter Wayne, Top Stock Eliminator was John Meinelt, Modified Eliminator was Larry Key, the Gas Eliminator winner was Pat Freels, 348/409 Eliminator winner was Bryan Fugate, Hot Rod Eliminator was won by Chad Brewer, and Geezer Gassers was won by John Swiek.

Also honored during the day were the winners of the Axalta Show 'N Shine that took place during the three-day event. Winners in each of the categories were: 

Best Shine & Detail: Dan Duffy, 1956 Chevy 210
Memory Lane: Kevin Dolittle, Willy’s Pickup 
One of a kind: Lowell Groom, ’63 VW Beetle Funny Car
Grand Marshall: Linda and Ralph Miller, 1930 Ford Tudor
Killer Kustoms: Truman & Wanda Morgan, ’55 Chevy Bel Air convertible
Dazzelin’ Deuce: Erik & Oksana Hansen, ’32 Ford Fordor Sedan
Director’s Choice: Mike Whitney, ’32 Black Highboy Roadster
Dynamat Pick: George Poteet, 1950 Ford Coupe
Trick Truck: Trent Blue, ’49 Chevy Pickup 
Timeless Tradition: Mark Watson, ’32 Ford Roadster
Thrilling ‘30’s: Linda & Ralph Miller, 1930 Ford Tudor
Fabulous ‘40’s: Ted Novicki
Finest ‘50’s: Kevin Burt, ’55 Chevrolet “Resurrected”
Sensational ‘60’s: Zach Straits, ’61 Galaxie
Super ‘70’s: Gary Buckies, ’71 Camaro Custom
Push Car: Dan Shaw, ’32 Ford Pickup
Street Rod: Oscar Gamble, 1932 Ford 3 Window
Mighty Muscle: Jeff Mumford, 1970 Chevy Camaro
Most Uninsurable: ’49 Plymouth Ratrod
Period Correct: Jeremy Dorlac, ’30 Model A 

The event closed with the famous Cacklefest as dozens of nitro burning machines came to life in a celebration of the history of the sport. Full grandstands at Beech Bend Raceway Park cheered the cars as flames leapt from the pipes of the nostalgic machines. 

Jim Murphy, Neil & Parks, 5.713, 257.33  def. James Young, FED, 5.920, 253.56. 

7.0 PRO
Don Nave, Lake City Chs, 8.982, 95.66  def. Ernie Lipinski, Neil & Parks, Foul - Red Light. 

7.5 PRO
Darrell Wathen, Willys, 7.495, 172.70  def. Jeffrey Ferguson Jr., Spitzer, 7.488, 169.17. 

Doug Duell, Plymouth, 9.503, 138.33  def. Diana Bookout, Chevelle, 9.998, 134.32. 

Skeeter Wayne, Chevy, 9.498, 127.90  def. Bart Boles, Young, Foul - Red Light. 

John Meinelt, Camaro, 11.684, 98.45  def. Frankie Riggs, Cuda, 12.409, 113.90. 

Larry Key, Chevy II, 12.320, 87.46  def. Greg Carta, Camaro RS, 22.375, 32.78. 

Bryan Fugate, Impala SS, 11.472, 118.58  def. Dave Coots, Impala, Foul - Red Light. 

Pat Freels, Camaro, 10.091, 129.92  def. Dan Hobbs, Thunderbird, 8.632, 156.86. 

John Swiek, Chevy CPE, 10.060, 129.14  def. Dustin Corn, Corvette, Foul - Red Light. 

Chad Brewer, Nova, 10.825, 118.41  def. Bear Nichols, Nova, 10.375, 125.02.

National Hot Rod Association -